(healthy?) Cinnamon Apple Scones

In my head I thought making cinnamon-y apple-y scones and having them with a cup of coffee would be the perfect autumnal Saturday morning. Except the fact that IT WAS 80 DEGREES OUT TODAY (WHY?!). But I was craving scones so terribly last week! And I couldn’t bring myself to get one at the campus cafés because they’re super high in calories. So I thought I’d make my own spin on scones and try to make them the -slightest- bit more wholesome. Also I’d never made scones before and NEVER THOUGHT IT’D BE SO DIFFICULT (AGAIN, WHY?!).

Anyway, they turned out really pretty and yummy which never happens when I try to make a recipe ‘healthier’. SUCCESS (sorta, I didn’t have anything to swap out the butter with).

To make 8 of these scones, first preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Then gather these ingredients:
2 cups white whole wheat flour
1/3 cup cold butter
1 scoop vanilla protein powder (~1/4 cup or as much to your liking)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 apple, peeled and chopped into bite size pieces
1/2 cup soymilk
1/4 cup agave nectar (or honey)

In a medium sized bowl, mix dry ingredients (flour, protein powder, cinnamon, baking powder, salt). Add butter and cut into mixture.
Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
So I didn’t have a pastry cutter and tried to use a fork. TOO MUCH WORK. Used my clean hands instead. Also at this point I realized my butter was partially melted (80 DEGREES TODAY, REMEMBER), so I’m not sure if that contributed to how ‘wet/sticky’ the dough became.

Next, add the apples, soymilk, and agave to the dry ingredients. Mix until it becomes like a dough.
Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Then flour down your counter/table, knead the dough a couple of times, and shape into a circle (~1/2 inch thick).
Processed with VSCOcam with 4 preset
Sprinkle some sugar and cinnamon on the top if you’d like! Now cut the dough into 8 wedges. On a baking sheet lined w/ parchment paper, separate the pieces and place (at least an inch apart!). Bake for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean and…

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Ahh! They turned out so much better than I thought they would! Not too sweet and chockful of softened apples. (I couldn’t help myself and wolfed one down before I took this picture tehe).

And then I had another one. With coffee. And pretended the weather was fall-like and not 80 degrees today.
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Happy baking!
Annie

Leave a Reply

